The Chilliwack School District is located in the heart of the Stó:lō (People of the River) territory.  Surrounded by the Ts’elxweyeqw, Pilalt and Sema:th communities, the Sto:lo refer to this as Solh Temexw (our world). 

The school district has a Local Education between the 10 First Nations and the board.  The Local Education Agreements are an important agreement that allows the two parties to work collaboratively in the best interest of our Indigenous students. The school district has a committee, Indigenous Education Advisory Committee, that meets monthly and consists of representatives from the Métis community, 10 of the 24 Stó:lo First Nation communities and representatives from the school district.  The purpose of the IEAC is to ensure regular and ongoing communication, planning and engagement in the education for all Indigenous students. 

Below you will find information around our 10 First Nations and Métis.